Karthik Calling Karthik, and why I loved it.


So, if one is walking out of a movie hall with one’s husband (and best friend, I might add), and the first and only thing one can think of saying is – “I want to marry Farhan Akhtar!” – does that mean anything?

No, just wondering. Out of curiosity.

So, anyway – I loved Karthik Calling Karthik. And here are the reasons why:

  1. Read Brangan’s fantastically-written review to find out why you’ll love the movie. I swear I’m in love with the man’s writing!
  2. Farhan Akhtar’s acting. It’s partly low-key, wallflower-type – done superbly; partly fun, intelligent, nice guy – done fantastically again; and partly, dark, negative and fantastic!
  3. The story moves along quickly through the first half, and even though I’d sort of guessed how it would resolve itself, parts of the film still spooked me out.
  4. The music – noisy, electronic, disorienting, even jarring sometimes – and fits the film so well.
  5. Even Deepika Padukone – even though I don’t really like her that much normally – she really fits the role here, and plays Shonali quite well.
  6. The opening credits – loved how they set the tone of the film so well.
  7. Farhan Akhtar – and how hot he is!

Next movie on the agenda – Road, Movie. And then maybe Teen Patti.

For now, lots of plans for the weekend. Party at some friends’ place tonight, a Heritage Walk early tomorrow morning, and then it’s Brat’s birthday too tomorrow. 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under films

4 responses to “Karthik Calling Karthik, and why I loved it.

  1. aanchal better get in the queue sweetheart…is mehfil mey (farhan) kai dewaney hazaron hain.

  2. I quite liked the movie, but of course I had to miss the opening credits:(

  3. hey..
    i loved the movie too..

    it speaks of how a human mind can work..how and what wonders can be done and most importantly it shows how a guy can love a girl unconditionally….

Leave a Reply

