the all new look


G and I recently did up or drawing room at home. And, “did up” = threw out all the old sofas and centre table, and bought all new furniture.

We’d been planning on doing this since years before we even got married, but somehow never managed to get it done. Mostly, we had no money – also, we couldn’t fix on what style we both wanted. I had a vague look in mind, and we recc’ed and recc’ed…and we recc’ed – but couldn’t find a thing we liked! Finally, we went to this furniture store in Noida, where we saw this set we both loved. But then we thought it might be love borne out of desperation, so we went ad recc’ed some more – a whole lot more! After a month or so of doign that, we returned one shaam to the same furniture store like subaah ka bhoolas – and there it is! That’s what our drawing room looks like right now. And I love it! πŸ™‚

***

This is one end of the room. The posters you see on the wall are from The Wild One and Seven Year Itch. Behind the curtains are the balcony door and a full-length double window.

img_2273

That bright spot in the top left corner is actually the lamp in the picture below.

img_2274

This, below, is the other end of the room. Behind the curtain is another tall window. The cane furniture there are extras from the balcony, brought in for a party. The dark thing against the wall is our book cabinet.

img_2281

img_2272

***

Whaddya think? πŸ™‚

13 Comments

Filed under home

13 responses to “the all new look

  1. love it! πŸ˜€

    me: Thanks!

  2. Good-looking room. And the more I come here, the more I realise I LOVE your header pic!

    me: Thanks – for both! Took it at one of the junk jewellery stalls at Janpath. πŸ™‚

  3. Hey love this look and the lighting too πŸ™‚
    The book case is also very nice but can’t see the sofa too clearly…
    Love the wooden look πŸ™‚

    me: Thanks! πŸ™‚
    I’ll put up some more pictures of the sofas soon.

  4. By the way I also love the earthy colours here πŸ™‚

    me: πŸ™‚

  5. My two comments didn’t get published!

    me: They did, they did. πŸ™‚

  6. achha….first u don’t post for ages and then I suddenly discover sooooooooo many new posts!!!

  7. Very nice. Love the mood lighting

  8. Looks great, but I want more pics of the sofas too. And what Chandu said!

  9. i think it looks really nice… warm is the word… πŸ˜€
    good job u guys!!:D

    me: Thanks!!

  10. why why why wudnt u moderate my comment??:(

    me: Sorry, sorry – I just hadn’t been checking my wordpress account for a few days. πŸ˜€

  11. looks cozy. and this header is cool.

  12. ur header reminded me of my first dekho of Janpath πŸ™‚

    me: Well, this was taken at Janpath. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

