From Couplehood


Remember this show – Mad About You, with Helen Hunt and Paul Reiser?

I used to love it! Am currently downloading the 3rd and 4th seasons of the show.

So, I found this book written by Paul Reiser. It’s called Couplehood. And, it’s typical Paul Reiser! And, I love it!

Here’s an excerpt:

“…the way I figure, there are two types of people: those who get it and those who don’t. If they get it, there’s nothing to explain, and if they don’t, there’s no point in trying to explain. They don’t get it. Move on.

But I remember thinking that if you’re going to be with someone, you should find someone who gets it. And someone who fits.”

Interesting thing: Ask most guys why they marry the woman they do, and they’ll tell you, “She’s the first one who called me on everything.”

All the things you tried to get away with in the past, all the games you designed and mastered for the express purpose of keeping people at arm’s length were, it turns out, all just a weeding-out process, a search for the one person who doesn’t fall for it – the one who can sidestep your tricks and see right through you. And, ironically, you’re not upset. In fact, you’re impressed. You think, “Wow, good for you.” And the message goes forth: “Okay, no more calls, we have a winner.”

See, a lot of times we’re just clueless. We walk around, scarred from previous relationships, thinking we’ve learned something, when in fact, things that may have been deal breakers in the past may not even bother the person you’re with now. (Learning what actually bothers the new person is how you spend the rest of your life.) But there is this need to disclose potential problem areas.

“I snore.”

“That’s okay.”

“No, but I snore in odd, little rhythms.”

“Doesn’t bother me.”

“I once snored a medley from The King and I.”

“My favourite musical.”

“Alright…I just thought you should know.”

And you keep raising the ante. Not that you want to scare them off; it’s just that if they’re ever going to leave you, let’s get it out of the way now.

“You may notice that in the bathroom, I tend to flush a few seconds before I’m actually done. I don’t know why, I just do. And there’s no way I can change. Do you understand this? Can you accept this? Because it has cost me dearly in the past.”

And she still hasn’t changed her mind.

So, you think, “Maybe this’ll work.” And ultimately, they find out everything:

How you chew, how you sip, how you hum, how you dance. How you smell at every point in the day, how you are on the phone with your mother, the fact that many of your friends are shallow, that you always have to sit on the aisle, how you never really listen, how whiny you get when you travel, how you’r enot gracious to her friends when they call, how certain game shows make you really really happy, how cranky you get because you’re too stupid to remember to eat, how you manage to get confrontational only when it’s with the absolute wrong person to be yelling at, how you don’t like the way you look in any picture you’ve taken since 1974, how you’re unable to get off the phone when you’re running late because you don’t have the ability to say, “This isn’t a good time; can I call you back?” How you have to lick certain fruits before actually eating them, how you have no ability to save receipts – all these things, and they still want to sign on. They still like you.

This feels good. For about a minute.

But the next thought is, “Wait a second, why is she being so understanding? If this stuff doesn’t faze her, her stuff must be even worse … Oh God – what don’t I know?”

And every day, bit by bit, you find out.

True, no? πŸ™‚

10 Comments

Filed under literature, love, marriage, prose, quotes

10 responses to “From Couplehood

  1. This is just brilliant! Must get hold of the book:)

    me: It is! You should! πŸ™‚

  2. hmm..i used to love ‘Mad about you’ too…i think the ‘Love seat’ episode was the 1st one i saw and then got hooked…
    i wish Paul Reiser had named the book something else…’Couplehood’ sounds a lil too cheesy for a guy with gray beard and bad hair to be reading :)…might still pick it up…

    me: πŸ™‚ You really should.

  3. ray

    Hi ,

    I was reading ur blog posts and found some of them to be very good.. u write well.. Why don’t you popularize it more.. ur posts on ur blog β€˜Three Drinks Ahead’ took my particular attention as some of them are interesting topics of mine too;

    BTW I help out some ex-IIMA guys who with another batch mate run http://www.rambhai.com where you can post links to your most loved blog-posts. Rambhai was the chaiwala at IIMA and it is a site where users can themselves share links to blog posts etc and other can find and vote on them. The best make it to the homepage!

    This way you can reach out to rambhai readers some of whom could become your ardent fans.. who knows.. πŸ™‚

    Cheers,

    me: Thanks, Ray. πŸ™‚ Will definitely check out rambhai.com

  4. phoenixritu

    Interesting. I must pick up this book.

    me: Do! πŸ™‚

  5. Nice book, na? Felt like his character from the series was writing it…

    me: I know! And I’ve been OD-ing on the episodes from the show these days. πŸ™‚

  6. Good. Will check out the book…

    me: Do. πŸ™‚

  7. Sue

    Tagged! Do it from a bookworm angle?

    me: Will do it tonight. Promise. πŸ™‚

  8. hey.. wandered over to your blog after ages.. remember we’d met at MM’s long back…
    I love this show.. infact we got the complete series some time back and husband and I have been bonding over marathon sessions of the show for months now πŸ™‚ but had no idea about the book… must get hold of it πŸ™‚

    me: Of course I remember! πŸ™‚
    Do try and get hold of it if you loved the show. No idea where you’ll find it though, ‘coz I’ve never seen it in any bookstore in Delhi. I’d picked up a second hand copy from the Sunday Daryaganj market.

  9. thats it. i have to go find it.

    me: And if you can’t find it, just borrow it from me. πŸ™‚

  10. I have that book. I remember laughing out loud many many times,,
    That show, I loved… but then things fizzled out when they had a baby, if I remember.

Leave a Reply

