Whew!


Like Chandni said here, my accounts were hacked – both WordPress and Google. (Thanks again, Chandni ๐Ÿ™‚ )

The amazing customer care guys at WordPress have just restored my account to me – and I am SO relieved! Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, Mr. A @ WordPress! ๐Ÿ™‚

The Google account, of course, has 4 years worth ofย  … well, of my LIFE. I mean, it’s GOOGLE for heaven’s sake! Where else do you store anyting that you need to store online, if not on Google? And the common ID means that my original blog account at Blogger, Picasa, YouTube, Orkut and Google Reader too are all gone! Have written to Google as well – and they have disabled my account for the time being. A friend of a friend’s says that he might be able to help since he works at Google. I am really hoping that he can! Because this, for now, is freaking me out! I mean, this person who got into my account and changed not only the password but also the secondary email address really is quite scary! And not just one, BOTH accounts!

I just cannot stop wondering who this could be? This is just venomous. No other word for it.

Very relieved for now! And apparently, this is happening quite often. Read this and this.

This gets scarier and scarier.

12 Comments

Filed under random

12 responses to “Whew!

  1. By the way, Google just restored my account, all data intact. It’s very possible you also got tricked by the same phisher that tricked me (with a silly “Orkut Greeting Card” link.

    me: Yes, yes – it was that! Now I remember! I got that Orkut Greeting Card mail too – and opened it! Thsi is extremely scary! Rest on mail.

  2. That’s good to know that WP is back (and from Krish Ashok’s experience, Google should also be back).

    I wonder if it would help to have a separate gmail account for the blog, so if there is any future issue, atleast Picasa, Orkut and the rest don’t get affected.

    me: Yes, I (desperately) hope so too! The problem seems to have started with Gmail, and not the other way around – apparently a phishing email was sent to my account and I opened it.

  3. D

    I thought Chandni’s would be an one-off case. Seems like it isn’t ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    me: Nope. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. Why would someone do something like this??! Pretty scary, to say the least…

    me: I knowwww, man! That’s all I’ve been thinking! Still hoping Google can help.

  5. Okay, congratulations on getting at least half you life back. Best of luck for getting the other.

    This gets weirder and weirder.

    p.s. came here from chandu’s blog

  6. Came across from Chandni’s blog. Im glad that you’ve gotten your wordpress account back at least. I can only imagine how violated you must feel. And I hope you feel somewhat better now that WP’s been restored to you.

    *Hugs*

  7. Goodness. what’s the state of your google account now? Have been using gmail exclusively for a few years now and i’d totally freak out if something like this happened to me.

    got here through mm’s blog. so hi!

  8. Oh wow, I don’t want to plead here… but I can’t help it…

    My four years of life’s also at stake. Could you please please help me out as well. With your google friend? Or something?

    Please write to me at my e-mail or publish a comment on my blog.

  9. Pingback: It’s back, it’s back! « Three Drinks Ahead

  10. That must have been so damn scary. Why would anyone want to do something so malicious is just beyond me. WB girl.

  11. Sue

    Yikes. What a scary thing to read first thing in the morning. Hope it wor

  12. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚ Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

