Chai Time


I love mornings on which you open your eyes to a darkened sky outside, and you can smell the fragrance of geeli mitti (wet earth), and all you want is a hot cup of masala chai.

My favourite recipe for chai, by the way, includes laung, saabut kaali mirch, daal chini, elaichi and adrak (cloves, black peppercorns, cinnamon, cardamom and ginger). And, ooh – does it taste GOOOD! 🙂

Couldn’t leave for office in time this morning because of the rain, so got an extra 40 minutes to sit in the balcony and have the aforementioned chai. The balcony outside our bedroom is covered with a sunshade, so all you get is a little sprinkle of the rain. It’s beautiful. 🙂

In other news, I was in Kerala for 8 days, got backand spent the next few days in office, and then ran off to Meerut with G for the weekend – for a much-awaited and much-postponed trip home. All of which was nice.

G’s off to London in 2 days. And I’m already missing him. In anticipation.

The weather’s lovely, and makes me happy. But the eye allergy I have makes me irritable and crabby. Strange mixed up mood today.

P.S.: Not to miss the Kerala houseboat in the header picture 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under just like that

3 responses to “Chai Time

  1. Nice thing about reading same-city blogs is you understand exactly how terrific the weather was( this morning)!
    The kaali mirch in chai sounds great for a sore throat.

    me: It’s awesome even if you don’t have a sore throat. 🙂

  2. dipali

    Lovely photoo!
    Part of me belongs to kerala:)
    Good to have you back- your chai sounds as though you stocked up on whole spices in Mallu-land:)
    More pics, please.

    me: Thanks. And, it’s good to be back. 🙂
    I always get my whole spices from Goa actually. But also got some from Mallu land this time. And lots and lots of Banana Chips, of course.
    More pics soon. 🙂

  3. You’re from Meerut? I was born there! And we have often gone back to Sardana and the Nauchandi Mela.

    me: Yes, I am. 🙂

Leave a Reply

