Happy Birthday, sweetheart…


I wish for you all the happiness and love in the world this year. And, I’d like to say – Thanks. πŸ™‚

Had written this, and since I wrote it, had wanted to write about you too. Was storing it up. Had thought – either your birthday, or our first anniversary. Couldn’t wait another month. πŸ˜€

Sweetheart, I’ve now known you for close to six and a half years – and have loved every moment of it. I don’t remember when it was that I fell in love with you, and I don’t even recollect when it was that I realised that I was in love with you. You just grew from being my best, closest friend to my “boyfriend”, to my husband. Marriage to you was more a natural progression of our friendship, than anything else. Even now, 11 months since we’ve been married – I still haven’t gotten used to having you around all the time. As 11 p.m. approaches, I find often find myself getting impatient of everything else, and wanting to just only spend time with you. 11 p.m. because that’s the time you’d say bye and go back home, before we were married. And then, it suddenly hits me – you ain’t goin’ away now…!! And then I get this nice warm feeling inside. πŸ™‚

Sometimes I feel that I missed that “cathartic” feeling that a lot of people get after getting married – the complete euphoria and “letting go”. But then, I wouldn’t change what we had/have for anything.

The friendship, the craziness, the late night drink on the terrace, the fights, the trying-to-understand-each-other conversations, the love, the togetherness, the feeling of being a “team”, the mad laughter, the cards, the e-mails, the late night phone calls, the serious discussions about books and films, sharing work stories, sharing the most useless information, sharing our lives.

Here’s to all of that, and all that there is to come. πŸ™‚

Happy Birthday.

I love you.

3 Comments

Filed under birthdays, family, happiness, love, marriage

3 responses to “Happy Birthday, sweetheart…

  1. Neeraj Bali

    This is very beautiful indeed!
    Happy birthday, Gourav!

  2. Hi,
    A beautiful piece straight from the heart! Lovely …Happy Birthday to him!


    me: πŸ™‚ Thanks all. He had a very nice birthday, by the way.

Leave a Reply

