Month of marriages


…Two marriages actually

It all started around the last week of November. The first marriage was of a childhood friend’s cousin. Now this friend (let’s call her N) and I go a long way back. Our parents were friends, and every weekend (and some weekdays even) would be spent together, either in their house or ours. We even went to the same school, though she was a year senior. Her younger brother was a year or two older than S. In fact, even her grandparents lived in D’dun, so even trips to Naani’s were mostly together.

N has a cousin – let’s call him K – who I actually remember meeting when I was in Class Nine, though I’m quite sure we must’ve met many times before that as well. And, I remember in particular, one New Year’s Eve, when there was this big fun party at N’s place, and we all danced till way past midnight. K and I danced together a lot, and that had led to many tears (so N tells me now!) amongst other cousins. I remember thinking he was sweet. And, I remember emails from him that said that I had the prettiest eyes. Apparently, he was teased a lot for the soft corner he had for me.

Now, somewhere down the line, we lost touch. Many years after that, he once gave me a lift back to Delhi after a weekend at home in Meerut. Then we lost touch again. Some weeks back, N and I were chatting, and she told me that K was getting married, and the conversation turned to the “crush” he’d had on me. So, I took his number from her to congratulate him, and before I knew it, I was invited for the wedding that was two days later.

G and I went. Met K after ages! In fact, met N after ages too!

Was nice. Especially nice was G cribbing about having to keep on meeting men who’ve had crushes and/or been in love with his wife. πŸ˜€

The second wedding was last week. This was another childhood friend’s marriage. Her parents and mine were as close. She, her sister, my brother S and I grew up together. We are neighbours too.

I distinctly remember the time when (let’s call this one ‘A’), A and I had just started reading Nancy Drew. We’d spend all afternoon and evening making up mysteries out of nothing. ‘Nothing’ included spying on neighbours and making people’s everyday activities seem extremely suspicious, and then making ourselves feel very important by looking for clues, and trying to solve the (imaginary) mystery.

We also, I remember, would play ghar-ghar (house), and “hotel-hotel”! Now hotel-hotel consisted of one of us being the manager, the other being the Restaurant Manager, and both our younger siblings being the work force of the hotel. We’d, with great concentration, even make a detailed menu for the restaurant.

Now with such a fun childhood spent together, how could I not go for her marriage? πŸ™‚

So, I took two days off from work, and went to Meerut for two days full(!!) of many many functions and many-many-many changes of saris for Mom and me. In two days, we managed to show-off five saris each. πŸ˜€

A is a Christian, who just married a Hindu. Her husband seems to be a really nice guy. I did think that she’s find his family a little over-bearing, but I hear she’s fitted in beautifully. And looks very pretty with bindis and sindoor. πŸ™‚

They’re on their honeymoon right now. And, very happy. So am I, for her.

Was talking to G the other night, and realised that for A, being married to this guy, might even be a cathartic experience. After years of being in love, families disagreeing on so many things, wanting to get out – it finally happens – you finally get to marry him, and begin a completely new life – together – only the two of you. With G and me, it wasn’t like this, and I’m not very sure if I missed having this feeling. For us, our honeymoon was loads of fun. It was the first actual holiday we were going for all alone. We had gone for holidays together before, but this one was without friends and families. It was wonderful. But, it didn’t feel quite that different from the last five years that we’d been together. For A, I think, this must be one of the most uniquely beautiful moments in her life. Cathartic, I said, in the sense of a complete purging or relieving of pent-up emotions, especially socially-unacceptable emotions in a small town like Meerut.

In a month or so, they leave for where he’s posted currently, and begin their new life together in real. Here’s hoping that they have a life full of love, happiness, laughter, togetherness and fun. πŸ™‚

Cheers.

3 Comments

Filed under friends, marriage

3 responses to “Month of marriages

  1. N

    πŸ™‚ well there u go… my first comment on your blog even though i have been reading it often…. πŸ™‚
    We had an amazing childhood πŸ™‚ and loads of fun with each other… really hope it could be more often..
    Till then here’s wishing A all the very beat and happiness as she sets on her new journey πŸ™‚

    me: Where’s the second comment you promised??!

  2. hello – welcome to wordpress… i must tell u that i dont look too bad with sindoor and bindis either and shhh secret… (i find his family a little overbearing too!)

    me: Thanks. πŸ™‚ A, actually, I was sure, would never do the sindoor and bindi thing. Hence, the surprise. πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday, sweetheart… « Three Drinks Ahead

Leave a Reply

